VegeCert has two designations, "certified vegetarian" for products that do not contain any meat, poultry, fish, seafood or insects, and "certified vegan" for products that contain no animal or animal byproducts whatsoever including dairy and eggs. The VegeCert certification process is thorough and efficient. Companies that obtain VegeCert certification may also request kosher certification. VegeCert Vegetarian certified products accord with the above classifications, except may contain the following: Dairy ingredients, egg ingredients, bee products, and shellac. Machinery: If VegeCert products are manufactured in facilities that contain animal based ingredients, VegeCert requires that the machinery be cleaned thoroughly between run. VegeCert works with companies to put systems in place to ensure that there is no cross-contamination between VegeCert and non VegeCert products and ingredients.